Upvotes for content such as list items

Charisma Riley October 21, 2018

I have been researching this issue for days with nigh any helpful results: native Confluence Cloud solutions (plug-ins, etc) and Third-party solutions (macros). Nothing even comes close. We have a place in Vonfluence where people are listing ideas. We want to be able to have the team members vote on each one they like. I understand that I may need to make my own Atlassian Connect script or something but I literally have no idea how a script for this function would be built/written. If anyone can give me a boost or a place to start, I’d be so appreciative! I’m not an expert programmer, nor am I a slouch with it either, I’m just not really getting how to build something like this with Connect, specifically. Thank you in advance!

1 answer

0 votes
Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 22, 2018

Hi Charisma,

In Atlassian we often use Questions for Confluence for this. You can post a topic as the question, and then people can put "answers" for their ideas. Then they can be upvoted or downvoted and you can accept the best answer.

Let me know if you have any questions about that.

Regards,

Shannon

Charisma Riley October 22, 2018

Thank you, Shannon. I did see that offering, and I will present it as an option to my team. I'm partly concerned, however, that I will have to re-do the pages with this macro in order to get this specific project rolling. However, I also know hat one we start using it, it would only need to be re-done once. Is there a way to restrict users to voting only once on each item? And how about voting on sub-items?

Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 23, 2018

Hi Charisma,

I think by sub-items you mean comments on Answers? It's only possible to vote on Answers themselves.