Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to Access Restricted Confluence Pages with Full Admin access

Maxwell Schroeder May 26, 2022

Hello,

I am a Confluence administrator for my organization.  Recently users have reported that pages that had been public have now been set to restricted.  

When I go to access these pages using my Site Administrator account, I am rejected and receive the following error:

"You don't have permission to view this page

This is because it's inheriting restrictions from a parent page. A space admin or the person who shared this page may be able to give you access."

The URL does not indicate which space the page is tied to, or what parent page it is inheriting permissions from (example link: https://confluence.XXXXX.com/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=53215354).

Is there a way for me to find the owner of this page, edit the restrictions, etc?  I am stuck and unable to find information. Please advise if I can provide additional information to resolve here.

5 answers

2 votes
Wolfgang Kaml May 25, 2023

I am having doubts that all of the restricted space access issues for even site admins is per design for Atlassian trying to sell you Premium and up. We are on a Standard plan and while I believe taking temp ownership of a user's account (with appropriate email notification sent) is an option, there is no way for a site admin to obtain access to restricted pages, which is super annoying.

2023-05-25_19-51-55.png

Mirka Osojca May 26, 2023

There is a way. Go to your Confluence Space General page, Go to the settings and click on 'restricted' in Manage Pages section. Then you can find the restricted pages and lift the restrictions.

Like # people like this
Joel Calland October 27, 2023

I'm having a similar issue, and (like I think someone else posted on this thread,) the restricted page is not showing up in that Restricted list. So now an admin is faced with either: