Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Style "also being edited by" Confluence message with CSS

Colin Van Alstine January 29, 2015

I'm a space admin (but not implementation admin) for a Confluence 5.6.3 wiki with the Documentation theme and we've had some issues with users losing edits because multiple people were working on a page at the same time.  I want to style the warning message to be more obtrusive (and more magenta).  I've come up with the following CSS and I want to be confident that it will only effect the message I'm concerned with, and not other elements on the wiki.
.aui-message.closeable

{ font-size:18pt; background-color: #C71585; color: #F5FFFA; }

I've read https://docs.atlassian.com/aui/5.4.0/docs/messages.html and I'm concerned that there might be other closeable message elements on the wiki that will be negatively impacted by this styling.  I've seen some Stack Exchange articles about applying CSS to messages that contain specific strings (in this case, the "also being edited by"), but those solutions were using jquery, which is beyond me right now.  Is there a better way to go about styling this wiki element?  Is there a way to find out if .aui-message.closeable is called elsewhere in the wiki UI?

Thank you!

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 30, 2015

Try this instead. This will only target ".aui-message.closeable" blocks that are in the "#heartbeat-div" block ... which is where that message shows up.

#heartbeat-div .aui-message.closeable {
	font-size: 18pt;
	background-color: #C71585;
	color: #F5FFFA;
}
Colin Van Alstine January 30, 2015