Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up Postgresql database for Confluence

Thomas Hsieh March 26, 2018

Hi,

I'm new to Postgresql and Confluence, and I'm trying to setup the database (I have the on-premise server version) by following this guide:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/database-setup-for-postgresql-173244522.html

At step 2.2, it states that "Collation must also be set to utf8", but how exactly do I do that? I'm assuming it's the LC_COLLATE option, and I've tried 'UTF-8', 'UTF8', 'en_US.utf8', and 'en_US.UTF-8', none of which worked.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

3 answers

1 accepted

13 votes
Answer accepted
Dave Chevell
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 26, 2018

Postgres's default database template should already have these values set correctly, so you should be able to issue a "normal" create DB statement with encoding specified and get the correct collation out of the box:

CREATE DATABASE confluencedb WITH OWNER connie ENCODING 'UTF-8';

If you need to specify these manually at creatino time, you should be able to specify them like so:

CREATE DATABASE confluencedb WITH OWNER connie ENCODING 'UTF-8' LC_COLLATE='en_US.utf8' LC_CTYPE='en_US.utf8'

However if you're having to specify these and not getting it set "out of the box", my guess is the host system of your Postgres server has its locale information set to something explicitly different.  If you have the locales package installed, running the locale command should tell you what LC_CTYPE and LC_COLLATE are set to by default in your host environment.

Thomas Hsieh March 27, 2018

Hi Dave,

Thank you for the quick response!

I forgot to mention that I'm using Windows. I just added a tag.

I used 

SHOW LC_COLLATE;