Setting a page break for PDF export

Hi, I am a newbie with page styles and pdf exports and so I'd appreciate some help with exporting pages to PDF and correctly using page breaks.

I would like to use an image or (ideally) a hidden element of the page content to force a page break when exporting to PDF. I have seen style sheet code which breaks on h1, h2 etc.... but I don't know what h1, h2 etc are.

Ideally I would like to be able to insert a user macro at the point I want the page to break when exported. When viewing it would remain invisible.

Please be gentle in pointing out the scale of my ignorance.

Regards, Jon

6 answers

1 accepted

Hi Jonathan.

H1 etc is HTML tags (paired) It is tag for Headings. H1 is top level heading, h2 second one ....

H1 tags, p tags etc is blocked, so everytime is there break new line after them.

If you need break, use <br> tag.

HTML is covered by W3 Consorcium. They have many examples and tutorials and really awesome web http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_basic.asp

If you need a new page, you have to use styles for it. It is called CSS (Cascade Style Sheet), more info on w3 web :)

If you have some element (HTML tag) on page, for example H1, and you want to have it on a new page , you can create class in CSS, define there that page breaking, and then use H1 with class definition of breaking. Examples :)

&lt;style&gt;
.break { page-break-before: always; }
&lt;/style&gt;
&lt;body&gt;
content on page 1...
&lt;h1 class="break"&gt;text of Heading 1 on page 2&lt;/h1&gt;
content on page 2...
&lt;h1 class="break"&gt;text of Heading 1 on page 3&lt;/h1&gt;
content on page 3...
&lt;p class="break"&gt;content on top of page 4&lt;/p&gt;
content on page 4...
&lt;/body&gt;

And here it could be for ALL H tags :)

&lt;style&gt;
h1{ page-break-before: always; }
&lt;/style&gt;
&lt;body&gt;
content on page 1...
&lt;h1&gt;text of Heading 1 on page 2&lt;/h1&gt;
content on page 2...
&lt;h1&gt;text of Heading 1 on page 3&lt;/h1&gt;