Redirection in Confluence 4

Jussi Savolainen October 11, 2011

Hi,

What would be the preferred way to implement a redirect from a page to an external source in Confluence 4? I'm not finding the "redirect" macro, perhaps it's not part the new version anymore? Confluence newbie here so bare with me... thanks!

Jussi

EDIT:

4 answers

4 votes
David at David Simpson Apps
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
October 11, 2011

It should be pretty easy to do this as a user macro using JavaScript -- if that's deemed acceptable.

Something like this...

## Macro title: Redirect
## Macro has a body: N
## Body processing: No macro body
## Output: Selected output option
##
## Developed by: David Simpson
## Date created: 2011-10-12
## Installed by: My Name

## This is an example macro
## @param url:title=URL|type=string|required=true|desc=The external webpage to redirect to

Redirecting to: <a id="redirectMe" href="$paramurl">$paramurl</a>

<script>
  AJS.toInit(function(){
    window.location.replace( AJS.$('#redirectMe').attr('href') );
  });
</script>

You'll have fun trying to edit the page after doing this though, so maybe add a setTimeout option :)

Thanks! Yes I thought I have to go with the JS option for now on (until a proper plugin appears... and perhaps with an option that admins won't get redirected to the new place to avoid the problem you mentioned:)

1 vote
David Peterson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 8, 2011

Hey there, we will be updating Redirect to work 'natively' with 4.0, but no timeline currently. Hopefully not too long, but keep an eye on community.customware.net for updates.

1 vote
Bob Swift OSS (Bob Swift Atlassian Apps)
Rising Star
Rising Star