Question about Layout customisation and version upgrades

I was reading this technote.

According to the note, if you make a major version upgrade (from 4.0 to 4.2 for instance), you have to save all custom layouts and reaply it, but I don't understant why you need to perform step 4 (Click Reset Default next to the layout whose customisations need to be reapplied).

After the upgrade the new version's default layouts overwrite any customisation? or

Customisations are preserved and the idea is to merge them the new defaults? Step 5 says reapply customisations, not merge.

Thanks for your help.

1 answer

I recently went from 4.1.2 to 4.2.3 and did not have to perform that step. I talked to a few folks at Summit about the upgrade, and they said that if it went OK, I wouldn't have to do any merging (and I didnt).

I'm assuming Step 5 "means" merge, but I would definitely try the upgrade without blowing away your custom layouts first.

My custom layouts were maintained when I did a database dump and restore. (Note: I did not export as XML and then import into the new Confluence version.)

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Community showcase
Published Mar 12, 2019 in Confluence

Confluence Admin Certification now $150 for Community Members

More and more people are building their careers with Atlassian, and we want you to be at the front of this wave! Important Dates Start the Certification Prep Course by 2 April 2019 Take your e...

1,120 views 2 13
Read article

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find my local user group

Unfortunately there are no AUG chapters near you at the moment.

Start an AUG

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local meet up. Learn more about AUGs

Groups near you