Problems with confluence macro browser

roman huesler July 15, 2018

I got trouble with the macro browser.

environment
This is my environment at the moment;
database - maria db 10.1.30 on seperate ubuntu 17.10 server
confluence - 6.10 on ubuntu 17.10 no addons

problem
Most of the time the macro browser cannot be opened / times out.
Strangely everything is working sometimes. The previous confluence version that I used showed the same problem.

Browser (Chrome) Console logs
"Macro browser preload failed. Trying again..."
"Error requesting macro browser metadata:"
"[object Object]"

Also checked to load macros by using postman. This also timed out.
Can somebody give a hint on which log I could check to find the cause?

Kind regards roman

2 answers

1 vote
aprilengland July 9, 2019

I am having this issue as well in my Test environment. Unfortunately we don't host our own instances so I don't have access to the servers, but I am a confluence administrator. We've been having this issue a couple times a month for about a year. We've tried cloning the Production instance to Test a couple times but it still happens. Restarting sometimes fixes it but I don't have access to restart it so this is very inconvenient for me. Is there a process that could just be stuck that needs to be restarted?

0 votes
Jamie Rogers July 15, 2018

Hi Roman

You could try having a look in your Confluence application logs and seeing if there is any error(s). These are typically in /<Confluence_home>/logs/atlassian-confluence.log

• If necessary turn on debug logging but this does generate a lot of output.

Also the database you're using doesn't appear on the supported DBs list for running Confluence. See https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/supported-platforms-207488198.html

Do you get the same error if you use the bundled database?

Regards, Jamie 

Sascha Ziemann March 20, 2019