Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One vs Several Spaces?

tbellmr December 3, 2019

I am just getting started with Confluence and it looks great!

I do have a question related to the use of one vs several spaces.  Under my "Director" there are about six different work groups or managers.

On the plus side of creating six spaces is that you do not quickly run into page name already used.  On the downside if I am the sole space admin, I need to manage six vs one spaces.  I have been leaning toward a single space but still not certain that is correct.  Seems like a single space makes it easier to collaborate and maintain. 

What do the well seasoned Confluence experts have to say about this?

2 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Alex Christensen
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 3, 2019

In my opinion, I'd start with one space and make sure content is organized well in that single space. If your team grows, the amount of documentation grows, or the scope of permissions needs to change for different content inside that single space, then you can always create additional spaces later on and move the content from that single space into others.

In my experience, I've found it best to start with something simple in Confluence and then introduce changes as problem statements present themselves.

0 votes
Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 3, 2019