New to Confluence - how do i set a tasks list

Justin Freeden May 4, 2018

Hi guys,

Hope you can help.

I am brand new to Confluence which i am using on a Trial basis.

I have started a new business and i want a software where i can:

1) share documents and information with employees

2) A task list.

I have set everything up and have a number os Spaces. But i am missing a nice clean task list.

Another company i had employed an IT company and they used JIRA and Kanban for work they were doing for us. I was envisaging a similar software for my employees.

So my question is which Atlassian product should i be using for the above. And if you suggest Confluence can JIRA/Kanban be connected to it?

I hope that makes sense.

Thank you

3 answers

2 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
Manon Soubies-Camy _Modus Create_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 4, 2018

Hello Justin,

To share a task list within Atlassian products, you have several choices:

• Confluence tasks. You can assign a task to someone and set a due date. The task can only be ticked or unticked, it won't follow any workflow.
  • Trello. If you don't know Trello, here's a good starting point. If you're using Confluence Cloud, you can link both: add Trello cards to Confluence, add Confluence pages to Trello cards...
  • Jira Core. You will be able to link Jira issues (tickets) to Confluence pages and vice versa.
  • Jira Software. Just like Jira Core but it adds the Kanban board feature.

If you only need a task list, I think Jira may be overkilled. This page is good to get an overview of the differences between Trello and Jira Software: Jira Software vs. Trello.

Hope this helps,

- Manon

Hi Manon thank you for your reply.

i think Trello Confluence collaboration is the way fwd. 

ill give it a trial run.

Thanks

Justin

Great helpful links btw