Macros creation: multiple excerpts, an option?

Wig Shire June 30, 2022

Hi, I won't go into the details of why we're still using the Data Center version and can't even afford the multi-excerpt macro... but I was considering writing my version, how difficult can it be right?

So I'm a software developer, so I know my way around web code, but I can find very little actual guidance and examples of macro creation for confluence.

Surely this has got to be a relatively easy thing to create: a pair of macros, one to create a section with a key on a page in which content can be added, and one to 'include' on another page using that key.

Any advice, help or pointers would be cool :)

(sorry, no option to select data center hosting version)

3 answers

0 votes
Wig Shire July 3, 2022

Ok, so I got it working. Not sure if its the most efficient, but seems ok.

The Multi-Excerpt doesn't really need to do anything - just be present with a parameter defining the key.

The Include Multi-Excerpt is more complicated:

1. Loop through the space to find the specified Page which contains the excerpts
  2. Get the Page's body content as a string
  3. Locate the parameter and its name within the string, then locate the end of macro and isolate the macro body with string sub string action - this probably won't work well nesting etc.
  4. print out isolated content

Now my final problem is using this macro within another, which works fine, but when I do an Export to Word command it gives an 'Error rendering macro' error... any ideas on that one?

0 votes
Wig Shire July 1, 2022

Ok so now I'm going down the path of using the $content class to try and get to an object which allows me to get a new page, based on its title, but I've also come across

$content.class.forName('????') which could help instantiate another useful class? 

0 votes
Wig Shire July 1, 2022