List Creation for Variable

Jen Latkowski November 18, 2021

First - I am new to Confluence and have spent most of the day try to solve this on my own so please forgive the newbie question.

We are looking to create a template which can be used over and over for various Client related details. I have created a variable field called "Client Name" and selected the "List" option. 

I have over 400 items I need to include in the list of options, and entering them manually, separated by commas and attempting to keep them in alpha-order seems like a massive waste of time. There has to be a better way. 

Since my list is in Excel, and could easily be imported into a table, I am thinking once done there has to be a way to use that table to populate the variable list (especially since we will add to the list as new clients come on board)?

Am I off the mark on this? I have to believe we are not the first people to try something like this, but since I cannot find anything anywhere perhaps I am wrong.

Has anyone out there done something like this or have any suggestions?

3 answers

1 vote
Shardul Juyal {Addteq}
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
November 22, 2021

Hi @Jen Latkowski 

With our app Excellentable, you can import the excel file in confluence, edit it natively and publish the results as HTML display.

You can reach out to our support channel for the specific use case

0 votes
Stiltsoft Support
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
March 14, 2022

Hi @Jen Latkowski

At the moment, you don't have the native Confluence functionality for your use case. However, there are multiple third-party apps at the Atlassian Marketplace that could help you.