Javascript doesn't work to some elements of Confluence

Xiao Song December 27, 2017

I'm trying to customize the look of Confluence with Javascript and I'm still doing some experiments. So I wrote:

AJS.toInit(function () {
AJS.$('.name a').text('test');
});

This changed the space name all right. Then I wanted to change the page titles in the left sidebar dynamically. So I wrote:

AJS.toInit(function () {
AJS.$('.plugin_pagetree_children_content span a').text('test');
});

Then this was not working! I'm not very good at programming, but I'm guessing this was related to elements not loading when my script ran. Could someone help me? Thanks in advance!

2 answers

0 votes
Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 27, 2017

Try this. You need to bind to the event that is fired when the nav has finished loading.

AJS.toInit(function(){
AJS.bind('pagetree-children-loaded', function(){
AJS.$('.plugin_pagetree_children_content span a').text('test');
});
});
Xiao Song December 28, 2017

Thanks Davin. Unfortunately, it's still not working. I also tried function "load()" and it had no effect, either.

I have put the code below at the end of the <body> and it is working:

<script type="text/javascript">
function circle_check() { 
if ($('.plugin_pagetree_children_span ').length) { 
$('.plugin_pagetree_children_span').prepend('<span id="no_label">abc</span>');
return; 
}
setTimeout("circle_check()",500); 
}
circle_check();
</script >

It's acceptable for me. But I don't really like it. Do you have any idea?

Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 29, 2017