Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JavaScript using the HTML macro returns nothing

aubrey.smith June 14, 2018

Good morning,

I am very new to JavaScript, but am trying to get a Statuspage.io private page to display as a widget on a Confluence page. Confluence is a core tool for our department, and so there is great benefit to having the Statuspage feed displaying on pages for various team spaces.

I have created a new page new page on my personal space, interted the HTML macro, and then inserted the following code;

<script type="text/javascript" src="https://cdn.statuspage.io/se-v2.js"></script>
<script>
	var sp = new StatusPage.page({ page : 'XXXXXXXXXXpx', apiKey : 'XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX' });
	sp.incidents({
 		success : function(data) {
		console.log(data.incidents[0].name);
    		}
	  });
</script>

The publishes fine, but the macro returns no data from Statuspage.io

I know I must be missing something obvious, but need a bit of guidance please. I have read the support document for using the HTML macro, but didn't get further with it, so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Aubrey

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
aubrey.smith June 15, 2018

It's too late for javascript to execute in the body of a macro - the <head> section of the code is effectively ignored because the <head> of the page has already been completed before the body of the page starts.

https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Confluence-questions/HTML-macro/qaq-p/310168

0 votes
Nick Coates
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 19, 2018

Best practice is to store Javascript towards the end (before the end body tag).