Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inherit changes from space template?

Drew Decker September 27, 2016

I'm trying to figure out how to inherit changes from a space template.  Not sure how to go about doing this.  I've read the "Adding a Template" documentation article and it specifically states:

Page templates are used only when adding a page. It is not possible to apply a template to an already-existing page. Once a page has been added using a template, the template is no longer linked to the page. All further editing is performed as if the template was never used.

Is there a way (even if it is not templates) to be able to have a way to have a "template" and then if I make changes to that "template", it will make changes on all pages?  Not sure if BluePrints would do this or not.  I'm pretty new to confluence and I need this functionality.  Specifically, what I'm doing is making an informational template for troubleshooting general issues.  Basically, I have a template that the user would put in all the details needed in (when they are filling it out it looks just like the template), however, if I want to go back and add a section to it, etc, I would want that section to change on existing pages as well. For example if I had the following list:

Name:

Sex:

Say, I have 100 pages that use this template and, so I basically have the 100 pages out there, but then I go and update the template to look like:

Name:

Sex:

Hobby:

I would want the "Hobby:" section on my pre-existing pages (but with no data in them).  From what the article explains above as well as my experieince, it will not do this, due to the fact that once the page is created, it is no longer associated with the template. This seems like a very simple item that should be pretty easy to implement, but I can't figure it out.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Drew

8 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader