Import an Exported HTML Space back into Confluence

Jana Rasmussen November 2, 2020

Hey All! I am still fairly new to Atlassian and to Confluence.  I am working with a partner who has used Confluence in the past and has data he exported as html from Confluence. We need to import it back in. He has the correct permissions, but it is giving some kind of error.  Is there a way to do this without having to manually prepare the space and pages and copy/paste the content in? How do we import an exported html space back into a Confluence space?

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Diego
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 4, 2020

Hello @Jana Rasmussen!

As I understand, you need to import a Confluence space into another Confluence site but you have only the HTML backup of said space.

Looking through our documentation, I could find this:

If you're importing content from another site, you may need to create an XML export of that content before importing it into your site. See Plan your Confluence Server to Cloud migration and Import a Confluence Space for more information.

Here is the full document:

If we look at the suggested document, we have the step by step on how to restore Confluence Spaces:

There, one of the steps is to export the space to the XML format so it can be restored into another Confluence Site.

The space export would need to be created in XML for the procedure to work. I hope this clarifies things.

Let us hear from you!

Jana Rasmussen November 4, 2020

Thank you for your reply Diego.