I am new to Confluence, are there any tools to assist with help authoring?

Kelly_Marshall January 10, 2019

Hi,

I know I can send a user an article in confluence, but what about developing a whole section where they don't have to log in, can access a directory of articles, search and see items?

Ideally, I would like to see this as a specific url that can be added as a 'help' link and be used essentially by anyone who knows the url.

Thanks in advance,

Kelly

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
roman
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 11, 2019

Hi @Kelly_Marshall,

am I correct that you would like to share a page with a reader that can only view without adding a separate user for him? Would you like some sort of "reader mode" for ready-to-be-shared-pages?

Roman.

Kelly_Marshall January 11, 2019

Hi @roman,

Thanks for asking, I'm looking more for like a main page (which I think is called a 'space' plus connected pages (with some sort of index/search) function available as read-only without any login required.  I found some info on making confluence pages public - which might be enough, but I don't have all the rights yet to do it. 

Do you have other thoughts on how this could be done effectively?  I don't think we want to invest in some sort of help authoring software like RoboHelp...which is basically what I'm looking to have as an end result - a help application site for our users only.

Thanks again,

Kelly

roman
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 15, 2019

@Kelly_Marshall,

I think what you want to achieve can be achieved with the app we develop — Scroll Viewport