Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use a web form to create a Jira

maria.corcau-preda December 6, 2019

Hello,

I am trying to make an external web page that will also have a form. After completing the form I want the fields to be submitted and create a new Jira issue. 

I wrote some php code and used the JIRA REST API but I can't figure out how to make it work. Anyone has a suggestion maybe?  I mention I already tested the api using Advanced REST client (basically same tool as POSTMAN) and when I do it there it works, on my site it doesn't. Also "JIRA PLACEHOLDER" is replaced by the actual jira instance in my code. It is my first time trying to use API and I am a beginner with PHP. I will leave the code below.

Jira-create-issues.php :

<?php
    $base64_usrpwd = base64_encode($_POST['user'].':'.$_POST['pass']);    $ch = curl_init();    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_URL, 'https://JIRA-PLACEHOLDER/jira/rest/api/2/issue/');    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, true);    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, 1);    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, array('Content-Type: application/json',
                                                'Authorization: Basic '.$base64_usrpwd)); 

$arr['project'] = array( 'key' => 'TEST');    $arr['summary'] = $_POST['summary'];    $arr['description'] = $_POST['description'];    $arr['issuetype'] = array( 'name' => $_POST['type']);    $json_arr['fields'] = $arr;    $json_string = json_encode ($json_arr);    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS,$json_string);    $result = curl_exec($ch);    curl_close($ch);    echo $result;
?>

And the code for jira-create-issue.html:

<html>
<head>
<script src="jquery-2.1.4.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles.css">
</head>
<body>
<div id="wrapper">
    <h1>Create Issue</h1>