Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to structure a KB with some shared content across products?

Ashley Arciero October 9, 2019

I am new to Confluence and trying to determine if we can use it as a structured document repository for process and problem resolution documents. The documents apply to a range of products across which some components and corresponding documentation are shared. In an ideal world, I'd like to be able to create a template where the author/page owner selects the product(s) to which the page applies and the page then automatically displays in the tree for the appropriate product(s). However, there doesn't seem to be a way to let users select multiple variables from a list or choose a subset from a list of predefined labels as part of a template.

So far, Scroll Versions seems like the closest solution if we build out the product with the most shared content first, but doesn't appear to be a perfect solution. I'm curious if anyone has suggestions for other solutions to consider?

I'm also concerned about the tree getting too many levels deep to navigate. In my head, it looks something like this:

Team Space

- Product 1

-- Installation

--- Component 1

--- Component 2

-- Troubleshooting

--- Component 1 

--- Component 2

etc. with several products and a long list of components (some duplicated) for each product.  

Are there best practices for keeping the navigation from becoming overwhelming for users?

1 answer

0 votes
Matt Reiner _K15t_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
October 14, 2019

Hey @Ashley Arciero

I'm with the Scroll Versions team, and I think the conditional content  functionality would be a good fit here, but as you mentioned, I think there are things you can do without the app.