How to get the deletion date of a trash item?

ABoerio March 16, 2020

Hi all, 

as an admin I want to periodically empty the Confluence space trash, but I'd like to do it (manually or by a Scriptrunner Script) based on how much old are the files in the trash.

image.png

In the space trash view I can't see the information I'm looking for (the deletion date)?

It's OK also to get it by a SR script, if there's no other chance, but I guess it's quite curious to not have this information directly from the trash page. 

Any hint?

Thanks, Ciao, Andrea

1 answer

0 votes
Diego
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 17, 2020

Hello @ABoerio ! The information which you are looking for is indeed not located within the “trash can” itself. We can access it in the instance Audit Log.

All page deletions are logged there and only an admin can access it. Here is how it looks like when we see the audit log for a page deletion:

Anotação 2020-03-17 191944.jpg

Here is an excerpt from our audit log page:

The audit log allows administrators to look back at changes that have been made in your site. This is useful when you need to troubleshoot a problem or if you need to keep a record of important events, such as changes to global permissions. You'll need Confluence Administrator permissions to view the audit log.

For more information on the Audit Logs generated by Confluence, you can take a look here:

With this in mind, I can say that whatever method you are looking forward to use, it needs to look into the audit logs and not the trash page itself.

Let us hear from you, Andrea! I hope this helps.

ABoerio March 18, 2020

Hi @Diego , thanks a lot.

This log can actually be very useful.

I just don't understand how to use the filter, to better define queries to view only the lines I need.

Eg I'd like to filter out the Scriptrunner event type lines, then search only the deletion events, etc...

image.png