How does one transfer ownership of a page from one user to another?

TK March 25, 2024

What level of administration is required for transferring ownership of a page from one user to another? I am an administrator of a space, but I didn't create the space. Is there some setting I need to request to be activated or turned on by the cloud administrators?

1 answer

0 votes
Laurie Sciutti
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 25, 2024

hello @TK and welcome to the Community!  Page owners can be updated at any time by the current page owner, space admin or site admin.

Ref:  https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Confluence-articles/New-Assign-and-transfer-page-ownership/ba-p/2396313 

TK March 25, 2024

Hi Laurie, thanks for the prompt reply. Unfortunately, I'm not seeing that option nor are my regular users.

Barbara Szczesniak
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 26, 2024

@TK Are you saying that:

1. There is no ellipsis button next to the Owned by line in View mode?
  2. When you hover over the ellipsis button, you don't see the Manage page ownership tooltip?
  3. When you click the ellipsis button, you don't see the Change owner button?

changePageOwner.png

I am the owner of the page I used in this screenshot above.

When I go to a page created by another user in the same Space, I see the same because I am the Space Administrator.

When I go to a page in another Space that I have no privileges on and go to a page created by another user, I see a More details tooltip on hover and Created by <created> on <date> when I click the ellipsis. I cannot change the ownership because I'm not the page owner, space admin, or site admin.