How do you get rid of Confluence table gridlines?

Gabrielle Gagnon June 21, 2013

We're putting our procedures in Tip macros, to set them off visually on the page, and we're using tables to keep instructions aligned with screen shots. The problem is that Confluence tables have gray gridlines, which stand out against the light green background of the Tip macro. We want to change the color of the table grid to match the background of the Tip macro ({color: rgb(243,249,244);}) so the table is invisible.

Can someone tell me which CSS selector or style I can use to override the Confluence table gridlines?

I'm a space administrator, not a site administrator, so I don't have access to the CSS stylesheets. However, we do have a CSS stylesheet macro (I don't know the vendor) I can use to override the table style on just those procedure pages.

If the Tip macro has a named style, it would be nice to apply that to the tables instead of coding in the color, so we wouldn't have to change all the procedure pages if the color changes.

Any other suggestions on how to make the gridlines invisible are welcome.

5 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Sean Curtis
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 26, 2013

Gabrielle I'd recommend against a blanket selector targeting all table/td elements - better off scoping it so you don't affect any other tables used outside the bounts of the page content. Something like this is safer:

.wiki-content .confluenceTh,
.wiki-content .confluenceTd {
    border: none;
}

Gabrielle Gagnon October 6, 2013

Thank you. I knew my solution was too broad, because it did wipe out outlines for other tables on pages where I inserted the modified table (using the include-page macro), but I couldn't find anything better. This was exactly what I was looking for.

David Arthur June 8, 2018

Where is this entered ?

Chema Guerra August 9, 2018

@David A