How do I add horizontal scrolling to a table or page?

Mark Singer
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
June 25, 2020

I have a 13 - 15 column table on a page that needs all columns to be readable.  However when I widen some columns, other columns become narrower.  Additionally, it looks like there is a limit to the width of a page, given that there is a wide amount of whitespace on the left & right sides of the page.

Is there a way to enable the table and/or page to go past the right-side edge?  Like a horizontal scrollbar at the bottom of the table that would allow me to fix the widths of individual columns and scroll the table horizontally as needed in order to view/edit the other columns not visible?

I should add that I am relatively new to Confluence and only have user (not admin) rights.

3 answers

2 votes
Diego
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 29, 2020

Hello @Mark Singer !

As I understand, the table you created does not have a scrolling bar that allows you to create wider tables and still have the content displayed as needed.

When I create a table and keep adding columns, their width does indeed reduce. However, when I resize them manually, their size goes beyond the default width set for the page. The only issue I faced was when resizing the last column.

For me to be able to resize the last column I needed to resize the previous column way more than what was needed. After that, I released the column and then reduced the column back to the needed size.

Here is what it looks like in edit mode and view mode:

Narrow Width - Edit

Screen-Recording-2020-06-29-at-1.gif

Narrow Width - View

Screen-Recording-2020-06-29-at-1(1).gif

Full Width - EditScreen-Recording-2020-06-29-at-1(2).gif

Full Width - ViewScreen-Recording-2020-06-29-at-1(3).gif