How do I add a section with just ONE column

Philippe Desrochers April 12, 2021

Hello, I'm new to Confluence.

I would like to add a section with only ONE column in my page. 

Is it possible to do that ? When I try to add a section, I only see options for 2 or 3 columns

It seems so basic I must be doing something wrong...

image.png

Thanks for your help

6 answers

1 vote
Bill Bailey
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 13, 2021

The page is by default one column. If you are looking for the sections function that exists in server, it does not exist in the new editor for some reason. Visit this issue report and add your vote:

CONFCLOUD-67648 

Philippe Desrochers April 13, 2021

I voted.. thanks.

Like Nancy Mooney likes this
0 votes
Tim Spencer
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
November 22, 2023

We just moved to confluence cloud. Not having 1 column sections is pretty yikes.

They were so useful to reorder large blocks of information on a single page. We used them constantly, and actively, on our project pages.

For example, new design ideas for a particular topic would be in sections on the same page. As designs depreciated we'd move them down, so we still had the design ideas there on the same page in case we used them later on. Not being able to do that now does suck.

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 13, 2021

Cloud Confluence doesn't have sections, it has layouts which come with two or more columns.