How can we disable the Confluence Space Export?

Gaj Umapathy January 17, 2019

Hi,

As a Confluence admin, I want to be able to disable HTML and XML exports of space. I can already disable pdf export by disabling the pdf export module in plugins. However, I want to disable HTML and XML exports too but I found that these modules can't be disabled.

image.png

I thought I will ask here incase someone has done this a nice way. 

Please note, I'm not looking for disabling this at space level with space permissions. I want to disable it on the entire site. Reason for this is to address DLP (Data Loss Prevention). 

Atlassian says only pdf can be disabled entirely  I'm sure we can do it with some VM file changes maybe.

Gaj

2 answers

0 votes
Bill Bailey
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 18, 2019

How many spaces do you have? I ask because the amount of time to reset the permissions is probably a lot less than trying to come up with a blocking solution.

You have two other solutions:

• White tape approach -  write CSS to set those menu items to invisible (visibility:hidden;)
  • Find the vm file in Confluence, and remove the link there.

Both of these solutions will take time to implement, and doesn't allow for admins to see the functions.

The cheapest way is to just reset the permissions for existing spaces, since you have already fixed the issue for new spaces.

Gaj Umapathy January 18, 2019

Thanks Bill. We have over 3k spaces but that's not the case as we need a unction to disable this for space admins (and stop space admins adding users or themselves to export space permission). We need only confluence admins to be able to do this. 

Bill Bailey
Rising Star
Rising Star