How can I control leading (the amount of vertical space between lines of text)?

Debra Graham September 12, 2018

For example, I want to change the leading for text formatted as Heading 2.  I want more space above the heading and less space following it.  In Word, I would modify the Spacing attributes for the Heading 2 paragraph style (see below).  How do I do that in Confluence?  Can I redefine the attributes of the default Heading 2 style?  Similarly, how would I change the default color of the Heading 2 style?

I think that the answer is going to be that I need to edit the CSS stylesheet but I'm asking just to see if there is an alternative as I have little experience with CSS.  

Spacing.png

2 answers

1 vote
Bill Bailey
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 13, 2018

I am assuming you are wanting to make this change site/space wide. If so, the easiest, cheapest and most effective  way to accomplish this is to edit the CSS stylesheet. This is something I do every time I set up a new Confluence server, to a) fix annoying issues and b) to have Confluence conform more to the clients branding requirements.

There are plenty of resources out there regarding CSS, and if you really are anal about how text is styled in Confluence (like me, coming from FrameMaker), you need to learn this skill (plus how to inspect elements within a browser).

Here is good place to start:

https://www.w3schools.com/Css/

Have fun!

Debra Graham September 17, 2018

Thanks for your response Bill.  Not sure how widely we want to make changes.  Investigating what we want for technical documentation, sales and marketing, and technical briefs.  Our company isn't large but different groups have stakes in the Confluence site.  :)