Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has anyone used Confluence to create their own company-specific style guide tor technical documentation?

Greg Burbidge March 8, 2016

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 8, 2016

I've not done it myself, but I've supported technical writers, authors and managers while they've done it.  Confluence is a good fit for it.

3 votes
Adrian Reid March 13, 2016

I'm with Steve. I'm a technical writer who has used Confluence in a number of organisations as well as other tech writing apps eg Adobe and I really prefer Confluence. Confluence has the flexibility to be used a number of ways not just tech dox.

There's a few issues though. It's a bit difficult to skin. You can add a company logo at the top of the page and change the theme to company colours but you need a plugin to do more than that.

If you have external and internal users on the one site it's not easy to secure pages. You can do it but it's not easy.

Also keep in mind the actual cost of Confluence is a lot more if you add up all the plugins you might need eg a visual editor like Gliffy which you might need for diagrams.

I'm just putting the negatives out there to keep things balanced, I still really recommend the application.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 13, 2016