Copy/pasted content inserts extra paragraph breaks/new lines, breaks formatting

Mariya Rybak December 15, 2021

Hi all,

Our team has been moving content over from other tools and has ran into the issue of copy/paste creating extra paragraph breaks/new lines -- where we have just one paragraph break, Confluence inserts two. This breaks our general formatting and requires edits every time, and gets really tedious for long documentation or for things like email templates we've copied over.

I've tried searching for bugs on this and haven't been able to find any, but before I filed a bug with Atlassian I wanted to see if there's a way around this that maybe we haven't discovered yet? Any suggestions from y'all?

Thanks in advance!

2 answers

1 vote
Sam Ugulava
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 13, 2022

Hi @Mariya Rybak

I'm a Product Manager on the Confluence Content Experience team. My team is going to investigate this bug in our next sprint. Hopefully should be a simple fix, but I'll circle back once we have more information. Thanks for flagging this. I completely empathize with how frustrating this would be as you move content into Confluence. 

Mariya Rybak January 13, 2022

Exciting, thanks so much @Sam Ugulava !

Like Sam Ugulava likes this
buddha August 17, 2022

Any news on this?

Bill Bailey
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 17, 2022

@buddha best thing is to watch the Confluence issues: CONFCLOUD-73315 . But given that there are so few people watching the issue, it will probably never get fixed.

John Price
Rising Star
Rising Star