Confluence User Password Reset

Justin Kyle Watson June 22, 2017

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Confluence and have inherited a system configure with Confluence 5.9.4.  I have several users who can not remember their passwords and I am trying to figure out how to reset them within confluence.  The email is not configured on this system so the link to "Forgot password" is not working on the login page.  Also I do not see any reset password options when I look at the user accounts. 

I originally thought this was set up to authenticate against our AD but that does not seem to be the case since the AD passwords do not work.  

Any help you could give a newbie on this would be appreciated. 

2 answers

0 votes
Lars Olav Velle
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 22, 2017

What user directories do you have?

Find the user directories: (note the ID)

SELECT * FROM cwd_directory;

Find the user, and see what directoy_id he is in:

SELECT * FROM `confluencedb`.`cwd_user`

Cheers,

Lars

0 votes
Thomas Schlegel
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 22, 2017

Hi Justin,

in general, you find the user administration here: 

http://<your-confluence-url>/admin/users/browseusers.action

or go to Administation -> Users

There you can search for your users wo can not remember their password. Click on the name will send you to that page:

http://<your-confluence-url>/admin/users/viewuser.action?username=<username>

There you have the option to change the password. There is a link under the user's detail information.

If you can't change the password, because it is retrieved from an external directory, you won't see that link.