Cannot remove unwanted watchers

Ed Schriger December 8, 2015

I am a site admin and I cannot remove watchers from certain pages on my Confluence/On Demand pages.

image2015-12-8 11:37:37.png

These users are in the "cannot modify" list, but they should not be watching this page.  How do I remove them?

8 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Ed Schriger December 11, 2015

Actually this turned out to be much simpler and none of the answers above solved the problem.

The way to remove unwanted space watchers is to have an Administrator login temporarily as that user and remove the user from the space watch.

1. Temporarily login as the user from User Management
  2. Space Directories - select the desired space
  3. "Stop Watching this Space"
Steven F Behnke
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 11, 2015

For all other readers, this function is a new function specific to cloud only. You can log in as users from the cloud user management area.

Ralph Jäger December 11, 2015

thank you for that detail. I'm working on a server version and didn't find the "log in as user" feature...

Steffan Klein March 21, 2017

That's not a solution - that's a really shitty workaround.

Like Balvant Biradar likes this
2 votes
Ed Schriger December 9, 2015

This seems like a bug.  As an admin, I should be able to manage watchers on a page who should not be there. What if the user is inactive?  How do I get them off the page?

How did these users get on this page in such a way they cannot be modified?  I know for certain that at least one of the users on the list above did not intentionally set up a watch on this page.  How did they get pasted on there in this state?

Steven F Behnke
Rising Star
Rising Star