Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in
Deleted user
Level
0 / 0 points
Next:
badges earned

Your Points Tracker
Challenges
Leaderboard
  • Global
  • Feed

Badge for your thoughts?

You're enrolled in our new beta rewards program. Join our group to get the inside scoop and share your feedback.

Join group
Recognition
Give the gift of kudos
You have 0 kudos available to give
Who do you want to recognize?
Why do you want to recognize them?
Kudos
Great job appreciating your peers!
Check back soon to give more kudos.

Past Kudos Given
No kudos given
You haven't given any kudos yet. Share the love above and you'll see it here.

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Cannot Add Inline Comment to Plain Text using Chrome

When I want to add an inline comment to plain text I get the following error message: “We can’t add your inline comment; the section you
highlighted may contain a macro or user mention. Try highlighting plain text.”
It is definitely plain text and the storage format looks ok.

The error is non-deterministic and occurs only when using Chrome.

I see the following error in the JS console:
POST https://XXXXXX.com/rest/inlinecomments/1.0/comments 412 (Precondition Failed)
XMLHttpRequest.send @ batch.js?analytics-e…r-enabled=true:9271

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Best regards,
Steve Strauch

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

Steve,

Can you tell us how many words you selected when you attempted the inline comment? Was the selection in another language, and are you able to leave inline comments on other sections?

Secondly, what version of Confluence are you using?

Thank you!

Shannon

@Shannon Spaniol thanks for your answer.
I selected the first word of a bullet point that is in bold. The bullet point contains more text.

The Confluence Version is 6.6.3.

Thanks.

Cheers,
Steve

Thank you Steve,

I was finding the issue was happening with short two-letter words as well, so I wanted to verify.

It appears that you have run into a bug that has since been resolved in Confluence 6.12.0:

When you're ready to upgrade, you can go straight to 6.12.0 and your issue should be resolved.

If you have any questions about that process, feel free to let us know.

Regards,

Shannon

Hi @Shannon Spaniol

thank you for your support.
I marked a five-letter word when I got the error message.

You are right. Thanks for pointing to the bug report.

Best regards,
Steve

Steve,

No problem at all! Happy to be able to connect you to the proper bug report.

Take care, and kind regards,

Shannon

Hi Shannon,

We are already on confluence 7.11.1 version but we still have this issue. 

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
TAGS
Community showcase
Published in Confluence

⚡️NEW Group for Confluence Cloud Admins

Calling all Confluence Cloud Admins!  We created a new Community Group to support your unique needs as Confluence admins. This is a group where you can ask questions, access resou...

143 views 2 10
Read article

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local event. Learn more about Community Events

Events near you