Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can we upgrade confluence server from 3.5.16 to 6.15.8??

Abhishek B A September 9, 2019

Hi Team,

I have a confluence server 3.5.16 in Server A(This is windows 2008R2 server) , can i install confluence server 6.15.8 in Server B(This is windows 2016R2 server) and move the contents from one server to another as this document suggests https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/migrating-confluence-between-servers-184150.html .Please suggest what steps to take im new to confluence.

Regards,

Abhishek B A

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 18, 2019

No.

3.x has a totally different storage format and data structure to 4.0 and above and you need to upgrade to a version that can still understand the old data so it can upgrade it.

You should upgrade from 3.x to 4.latest first.  Then thoroughly test a 4.x to 6.target upgrade (In theory, this can work, but I've seen it have problems).  If it fails, then plan 4.x to 5.latest, then 5.x to 6.target - that should work ok.

Abhishek B A September 26, 2019

Hi @Nic Brough -Adaptavist-  , after i upgraded from  3.5.16 -> 4.2.7  when i start confluence im getting the below error for all plugins(below shows only one plugin error) , do you have any suggestions on how to resolve the same .

2019-09-26 05:26:24,306 ERROR [main] [atlassian.plugin.loaders.ScanningPluginLoader] deployPluginFromUnit Unable to deploy plugin 'com.atlassian.confluence.extra.widgetconnector', file Unit: D:\confluence\data\bundled-plugins\widgetconnector-2.0.1.jar (1340412696000) java.lang.IllegalStateException: Unable to create a tracker when osgi is not running

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader