Can't move pages

Mark Lichtenberg July 22, 2013

Hi,

Using our Confluence onDemand, I am unable to move or re-order any pages except those in my personal space. I'm an administrator, so I do have view and add permissions on everything.

I've attempted this numerous times using drag&drop on the tree view via Browse -> Pages, as well as trying to move individual documents with tools -> move. In both cases the operation seems to be accepted but the page is never moved. No error messages are displayed.

7 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted

Applying the workaround listed in the issue below solved the issue for us.

https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/CONF-29865

2 votes
Chelsea Morgan October 27, 2016

I found that the issue was trying to move a restricted view page to an area that's not restricted. I temporarily removed the view restrictions on the page and it moved to the new space and new location without an issue.

1 vote
Guilherme Nedel [Atlassian]
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 22, 2013

Hello Mark,

This really looks like a permission issue, are you attempting to move the pages to a different space? In that case you may additional need permissions to do that, please note the following:

Notes about permissions:

To move a page, you need the following permissions:

• 'Add' permission on the page you are moving, and
  • 'View' permission on the page's parent page. So if you are moving the page to a different parent, you need 'View' permission on the new parent.

To move a page into a different space, you also need:

• 'Delete' permission on the space you are moving from, and
  • 'Add' permission on the space you are moving to.

Source

Please add additional context to this thread if the above pondering does not solve the issue.

1 vote
jing_hwa_cheok
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 22, 2013