Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can/How do I access data saved on Page

Debi Breaux March 20, 2012

I am new to Confluence, as might be painfully obvious after you read the rest of this text. After reading much of the documentation from various sources, I am not even sure if I can do what I am asking, but here goes:

What I want to do:

I want to retrieve page data and generate a report from it

Here basically are the test steps I am following:

1. Create/Save a template
  2. Create a page from the template
  3. Enter data in to the page fields
  4. Save the page
  5. Do steps 2-4 two more times, entering different data

Here are my questions:

Where does the page data go when you save it?

Can/How do I retrieve it?

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Andrew Frayling
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 20, 2012

Hi,

I think I understand what you're trying to do, but Confluence templates do not work in the way that I think you're trying to use them.

If I'm understanding correctly you're trying to do something akin to entering data into a spreadsheet / database where the data is held in columns or key/value pairs and you can then manipulate the data in some way - generate a report, draw a chart, etc. Confluence templates don't work like that, they just create a skeleton structure and placeholders and when you enter data into the fields in a page created from a template the page is saved as a whole, each page is just one big chunk of text in a database field.

Is my understanding of what you're trying to do correct? Does my explanation make sense?