Bringing in Confiforms data from REST to Excel

Jason Walsh October 12, 2020

Good evening and forgive me in advance and I'm relatively new to REST API calls.

I'm managing a massive form (300+ fields) and obviously, when one needs to extract all that data it takes a very long time from the administrative cog wheel located on the Confluence page hosting the form fields. 

Now I have had some success using Dynamic filters in Table Views with a filter set on the default table to effectively set the returned records to blank.

I'm curious if the solution to my problem is to attempt to manipulate the filter control or is there a way to get started extracting this using the REST API and how would I get about coding that? Again, very new to REST API. Let me know!

1 answer

0 votes
Alex Medved _ConfiForms_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 12, 2020

Hi

Check this page https://wiki.vertuna.com/display/CONFIFORMS/Data+Export+tricks+and+hints 

It explains how the exports can be "tuned" and it also shows that you can craft a link that will export the data from the form for you. (without a need to go through the form's admin UI (cogwheel "stuff"))

And it doe snot have to be REST API (JSON), but you can export it into CSV/Excel directly

Alex

Jason Walsh October 14, 2020

The link works well but it doesn't solve for the rendering speed. At time it can take 5 minutes to build the CSV. 

The problem is that business wants a dump of all the fields and records. Again, this form has over 300 fields so it naturally takes a ling time to render. That kind of why I was asking about a REST API call that could suffice it. Thoughts?

Alex Medved _ConfiForms_
Rising Star
Rising Star