Best way to migrate from Microsoft?

Brian Royce January 16, 2021

I am new to Confluence and have a small 7 person company currently using share files and email to manage everything (giant headache). Does anyone have some best practices on migrating a company? IE: Would I just take any word docs that have documentation and convert them into pages? Or is it better to attach the word doc? The thing I do not like about using Microsoft Office is you run the risk of people saving a copy of a file and things getting outdated. Any suggestions greatly appreciated :-)

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Pramodh M
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 16, 2021

Hi @Brian Royce 

As I understand from the context, you have Doc files and you want them to move to Confluence. I say you have to do this one by one by managing what files go into what space and you could then distribute the work among your co-workers for publishing pages.

I would not go into attaching a word doc

Thanks,
Pramodh

Thank you @Pramodh M! This is what I thought, but wanted to make sure. I am a consultant and have spent a long time looking for solutions before deciding Confluence was the one to use for KNowledge Management (and maybe a few other plugins).  There are a lot of other options these days but the Atlassian Community, University, Certifications and software itself, etc all made me pick it over the other as I was to learn and master one platform and offer to my clients.

Using the approach you recommended - One inevitable challenge I can see coming up is client's fear of moving everything to another platform. I have 2 questions surrounding this:

1) If for some reason you wanted to stop using confluence - is there a way to export all of your page data back into word or google docs?