Best way to add content to every page in a space?

Walter Stabosz November 2, 2011

I'm new to Confluence administration, but not Confluence as a wiki editor.

I have an onDemand wiki, and I wanted to figure out the best to create some content that will be applied to all the pages in a space.

I imagine the fasted way would be through some sort of plugin (if one existed)

However, my research suggests that I'll have to create a custom theme and put the content there.

Or an easier alternative to a custom theme is to put the content in a Space Template, and create all my pages from the template, but I don't like that solution because I'd never be able to change the content.

Or maybe creating a theme isn't all that hard.

For now, I just want add the Google Analytics JavaScript include to all my pages. So maybe if there is a plugin for that, let me know about it.

Thanks,

Walter

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Walter Stabosz November 2, 2011

I found this http://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DOC/Adding+a+Site-Wide+Banner which describes the Custom HTML feature, and does suit my needs, however I don't appear to have a "Custom HTML" on my Confluence OnDemand site.

And this confirms it http://confluence.atlassian.com/display/AOD/Restricted+Functions+in+Atlassian+OnDemand, onDemand does not have Custom HTML

0 votes
JamieA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 2, 2011

I'm not familiar with the SaaS confluence, but I believe the custom HTML is not disabled, in which case that's the best way for this particular task.

Admin -> custom html -> add the javascript to the section "at the end of head".

For the theming in general, as you probably can;t upload plugins, the best way might be to do it entirely in javascript, and include the relevant files using the mechanism above.