Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why should I use Confluence?

Oleg Nesterenko July 27, 2019

This is my first try of the Confluence and to be honest I so disappointed. I still cannot get, why people are baying Confluence if Google provide same services for free. 

Probably some companies can afford to hire an expensive scrum master to manage their documentation, but for a small startup it is a death.
I was planning to use Confluence as a secure storage of tech documentation and collaboration tool, so I started from the importing of excel files to a new space. But suddenly I found that Confluence cloud is not able to handle a simple excel sheet. Instead to open it as spreadsheet, it opens as a doc. My question is: why should I pay and waste my time to learn some of Atlassian tricks.
I'm going to use offshore services, so I want to prevent users to download docs from the cloud. How can I do it if I'm not able to provide proper view of uploaded documentation?

4 answers

2 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 28, 2019

>Be honest, I don't see any profit for company if their employees will spent all day in creation their own spaces, with some unreadable information and will waiting for likes.

Nor do I, that's why I use Confluence instead of writing Google docs that can't be found, and are out of date within minutes of being written.

People simply don't use Google docs for sharing with a wide audience, it's yet another place docs go to die (like Sharepoint).  I can't think of a single organisation that writes a Google doc that is still  used 6 weeks after it was written, but I can point at Confluence pages that are used daily over a decade. 

And people don't use google docs for "shut up and write", unlike Confluence.