What are some best practices for content reuse without adding plugins?

Shawn in Van December 19, 2017

I have recently inherited a large Confluence project and to my dismay, I have found a significant amount of duplicated content with random edits that has resulted in inconsistent content.

For instance, there are many notes and alerts as well as paragraphs that I would like to reduce down to a single source copy of each. 

Rather than arbitrarily selecting a page to host the master/source copy, I am thinking of creating a "hidden" section dedicated to hosting each source note.  In MadCap Flare terminology, I would call these "Snippets". Then use the Excerpt macro - Excerpt Include or Include Page macros to add the notes to each page,  where required.

In the absence of any respectable content reuse functionality, is this a good practice?

I'm a novice with Confluence so please be gentle. :)

Thank you for your advice.

2 comments

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 19, 2017

The user of "include" and "include excerpt" you describe here are pretty much the main reason the macros exist!  It's a very good use for them.

The only qualm is the "hidden" section.  The include macros respect the privacy and page settings for their source, so you don't want to hide them.  You almost certainly do want to have a space that is the source of your snippets, with pages all visible to everyone, but with (heavily) restricted edit rights, so only the right people can update stuff that is potentially widely shared and reused.

Shawn in Van December 19, 2017

Hello Nic, thanks for your quick reply.