Upcoming changes to the way you write in Confluence Cloud

philoye
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 26, 2017

Hello,

I’m a product manager with Confluence Cloud and I wanted to let the Community know about some upcoming changes to the way you write in Confluence.

#1 — A new design that matches the new Confluence look.

We recently rolled out a new design for Confluence, with a focus on creating a more intuitive and simplified experience. We're now extending the new design to the editor – for pages, blog posts, and comments.

editor.png

Notice that we’ve simplified the toolbar by moving a few items from the toolbar into the insert (+) menu. For images, most of you are using copy/paste or drag n' drop, and for links, we see often see pasting a URL or using keyboard shortcuts. The Undo/Redo buttons are also gone, just use your standard keyboard shortcuts.

#2 — Updated keyboard shortcuts

Great news! We’re updating keyboard shortcuts to avoid conflicts with some browser defaults as well as align with other tools you might be used to.

One change to watch out for is headings, which will now use Command+Option+1-6 (Mac) or Control+Left Alt+1-6 (PC), since the previous shortcuts conflicted with tab switching in all browsers. You might ask, why "Left Alt"? Well, non-English customers need Right Alt (or AltGr) for accessing extended characters.

Another one to keep in mind is that we changing the shortcut to publish the page to prevent accidental publishing. Now use Command+Enter (Mac) or Control+Enter (PC).

Also, Mac users rejoice! Command+Shift+Z will now Redo, though we're also keeping around Command+Y for those that know it.

Chrome users on both Mac and Windows will now be able to “Paste and Match Style” by using Command+Shift+V (Mac) or Control+Shift+V (PC).

#3 — Auto-formatting: Wikimarkup is out, Markdown is in