Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seeking Feedback on Datasource Connector Usage in Confluence

Hi All,

My name is James and I’m an Engineering Manager on the Confluence Data Center team. I’m here to gather some feedback from users who Administer Confluence instances about how they connect Confluence to a database.

As part of our goal to deliver the most value for the most users, we occasionally remove features or functions from the product that are rarely used or no longer fit our teams vision for the product in order to increase focus on other areas. To this end, we are currently investigating the removal of support for Tomcat (JNDI) Datasources as a method for connecting Confluence to the database.

If you're not using a Datasource connecter (you can check by reading this documentation), then the changes under consideration won't impact you :)

For those using Datasources, we would like to gather your feedback on the following points
1. Are you running Confluence Server or Data Center?
2. Are you using a Tomcat Datasource to work around a problem you encountered in your environment? If so, what was the problem?
3. Why have you and your team chosen to use Datasources in place of the default JDBC URL method?

We'll be accepting feedback for two weeks, and will include this feedback as one of many factors in our deliberations on next steps. In turn, I'll update this post with the decision we arrive at.

EDIT - I'm going to refrain from commenting on your feedback until the end of this process so as not to influence the feedback. I will reply to some of the comments once the feedback window has closed as there is some relevant information to share. Thanks for the feedback so far :)

Thanks,
James Ponting
Engineering Manager - Confluence Data Center

5 comments

GBE May 13, 2022

Hi @James Ponting ,

I saw this post from your comment on https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/CONFSERVER-59524

We are using Confluence Server.