Recording and Responding to Product Feedback

Deleted user November 27, 2018

Hi my name is Trevor,

I am a Software Engineer and I am looking for advice on how best to track, respond to, discuss, and defer feedback on our product in a way that makes it easy for users to provide their feedback, have the correct people see that feedback, and be able to address / resolve / defer the feedback in some way and let the person who left it know what happened.

The Background

Currently we have a process we call "Shared Ownership" which (long story short) is all of the developers and product stakeholders giving feedback on each feature during a sprint. This feedback is generally non-critical, critical feedback like the feature erroring, gets a sub-task created in JIRA directly. The feedback left as part of this process is more soft "The screen looks cramped with long names..." is an example of feedback someone might leave.

Since we can't (don't want to) have the whole company in the design meetings a lot of this feedback is around design, but likewise we also leave feedback about technical things "The PUT API request requires an Id in the body but that's inconsistent with other endpoints" is another piece of feedback we might see.

Really the process a way for everyone to "buy into" and provide the first round of feedback on a completed feature, before it is shipped. We can't have every developer in every meeting and on every code review so this is our way to get everyone a voice on our features. We don't ship a feature until we have gone through this process and have responded to all of the feedback.

The Question