How do you pronounce Confluence?

Jonathan Smith
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 2, 2018

My first Atlassian Summit was last year. During a training event on day 1, the presenter introduced himself and then noted the class topic "JIRA / cunFLUence" Integration. I did a double take after hearing him say CONfluence like that. At first I thought he was trolling the class... I guess I have been pronouncing it incorrectly for 2 years.

During your onboarding of Confluence into your organizations, did everyone default into calling it CON-fluence?

:)

4 comments

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new comments.

Post a new discussion

Meg Holbrook
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 2, 2018

I laughed out loud when you wondered if he was trolling the class. 

I mean, dictionary.com says it's Con-fluence (junction of two rivers), which is how I've always pronounced it. I don't recall hearing anyone at the last Atlassian Summit call it Cun-fluence either. Weird!

People always pronounce things differently due to regional and language differences though. 

Jonathan Smith
Rising Star
Rising Star
May 2, 2018

I think it was Matthew who also ran the prep course video :) He just stresses the FLU as we stress the CON.

"TomAto - ToMATO"

Meg Holbrook
Rising Star
Rising Star
May 2, 2018

Ahhh, gotcha. In your original post you spelled out Cun-FLUence. 

First thought was uh... Cun is a weird way to say it.