Atlassian on LINUX

StephanieC August 26, 2019

We are contemplating switching from Windows to Linux, hoping to resolve some performance issues and weird stuff that happens when we upgrade. 

Has anyone else done this? Advice ? 

3 comments

Consulente Atlassian August 26, 2019

For work I have been managing Unix and Linux systems for about 20 years. For at least 8 years I have also been working on Atlassian installations on Linux environments. Surely if you choose to abandon Windows to switch to a real operating system, you have already purchased 90% of productivity in general. And certainly Atlassian's programs also benefit from it. Take this step and put Windows behind you forever. As a database server I suggest PostgreSQL compared to MySQL, certainly both valid compared to the very slow Microsoft SQL Server.

Like # people like this
James Bullock August 26, 2019

OK, I worked very hard to be neutral and polite in my other reply, but...

• If you don't have to run on Windows, there's a lot of reasons not to. And
  • If you *can* run on Linux, there's a lot of reasons to do that.

There's a reason I haven't run Windows myself for anything but games since '03. BUT, during that same time I managed recovery of development of a product that was on Windows only, which only made sense as a product on Windows. (Also, another product on a ruggedized Linux appliance, which similarly made sense as a product choice.)

Net, "it depends" but for a packaged app from a vendor -- like Jira from Atlassian -- I'd put it on the least vendor-encumbered platform I could manage, closest to the mass of what they ship and use.

Like # people like this
James Bullock August 26, 2019

Hi Stephanie,

Answers (and I'm going to commit a couple heresies). Net: