Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Table of Contents Macro has a new look!

Hi Atlassian Community,

My name is Tiffany Chung, and I’m a Product Manager on the Confluence Cloud team.

The Table of Contents macro is a highly used feature that creates a table of contents for a page based on its headings. This helps readers find their way around lengthy pages, summarizing the content structure and providing links to headings. 

Previously, the right rail of the Table of Contents macro was cluttered and heavy-handed. It showcased all possible fields which made it difficult to easily navigate and configure your table of contents. Moreover, some fields allowed users to enter any value when there were limited valid values. For ex. you could specify any value for the heading levels when only inputs 1-7 were valid.

The new and improved Table of Contents macro enables you to customize your table of contents through a basic and advanced tab. The basic tab allows you to quickly and simply configure the look of your table of contents through dropdowns and checkboxes, while the advanced tab allows you to further customize your table of contents with more technical and less commonly used fields, such as headings include and exclude.

Today:

ToC (1).gif 

In the basic tab, you can quickly configure your list style, bullet or separator type, heading levels and whether to include section numbering.

Basic tab.png

For more granular customization of your ToC, you can click into the advanced tab and set your heading indent and ToC style with a CSS class name, include or exclude certain headings and whether to include your ToC in exported PDFs.

Advanced tab.png

How to use the Table of Contents macro:

insert ToC.gif

1. Insert a Table of Contents macro by selecting it from the toolbar or typing “/tableofcontents” in the body of your page.