The Excerpt Include macro just got an upgrade!

Hi Atlassian Community,

My name is Tiffany Chung, and I’m a Product Manager on the Confluence Cloud team.

The Excerpt macro and Excerpt Include macro are popular features that make it easier to include and reuse information from one Confluence page in another. The Excerpt macro lets you define part of a page’s content to be re-used on another page. On the other hand, the Excerpt Include macro is used to display that 'excerpted' (that is, a segment of) content in other pages. In 2021, we introduced the ability to insert multiple excerpts in the same page ( ).

Previously when you added excerpts to a page, you had to remember the excerpt name and type it out yourself. Today, in the Excerpt Include macro, after entering the name of the source page containing the excerpt, you can select the name of the excerpt you’d like to include from a dropdown! Now you don’t have to manually enter or remember excerpt names, saving you time in your editing experience!

Today:

excerpt include dropdown 2 (1).png

How to use the Excerpt Include dropdown

1. Insert an Excerpt Include macro; You can select Preview before saving the macro to make sure you see what you expect.

2. Type the name of source page containing the excerpt you’d like to include

3. Use the dropdown to select your excerpt macro name

4. Select Save to add the macro to your page.

Excerpt Include dropdown (1).gif

You can use the Excerpt and Excerpt Include macro to reuse information between Confluence pages. Any changes to the content in the Excerpt macro on the source page will be reflected in subsequent pages that include that excerpt. For instance, if you’d like to reference your team’s standards and guidelines in multiple pages and keep one page as the central source of truth, you could use the Excerpt and Excerpt include macros to do so!