First Impressions of Confluence Cloud from an Atlassian Veteran

I have been using Jira & BitBucket for close to seven years now.  But I’ve never had the opportunity to use Confluence until about three months ago when I changed companies.  My previous company used an alternative tool for knowledge management and collaboration with no desire to consider Confluence.

Now that I have had the pleasure and opportunity to use Confluence for a few months, I thought I’d share with you all some of my first impressions about the functionality and features that I enjoy the most.

Ease of use navigating the REST API documentation

Shortly after I read through the onboarding documentation in Confluence.  One of the first things I was requested to assist with was writing some python scripts that would call the Confluence REST APIs. One of the teams was looking to location all instances within a given space where a specific string was used.  I have worked with the Jira REST APIs a little bit and finding everything I needed in the Confluence REST API documentation was extremely easy including examples using CQL and generating API tokens to use for authentication.

Templates help with visual discovery of important macros