Before you begin: the power of Step 0 in a how-to

"I appreciate that the directions are there," Bob* said, "but they assume things I don't know yet."

I nodded my head in sympathy, pencil poised over my notepad. I'd come to talk to Bob about the comments he'd posted on one of our lab's wiki pages. He'd finally found the information he needed, but only after running a command that everyone seemed to know about but him.

I could relate to his frustration. New to the lab, there were lots of acronyms, terms, processes, conventions, languages and tools that I didn't know. I thought this was because I'm not a developer or coder, but Bob was an experienced developer (though new to the lab too) and he didn't know everything either!

I took a careful look at the many how-to pages in our lab's space. Bob was right. There were plenty of how-tos, and good instructions, but reading them was a bit like stepping into the middle of a conversation. Then I looked at the how-to template in our space. Sure enough, it started with "Step 1."

What we needed was a "Step 0" -- what needed to happen before someone could actually start executing on the steps in the how-to. Tenured developers tended to jump right in at Step 1 or even Step 2, having all the essential scripts, tools and access already set up. But those new to the lab wouldn't necessarily be as well-prepared.

Fortunately, our subject matter experts who wrote the majority of the how-tos were already familiar with the how-to template. So I added a simple section to the top of the how-to template: "Before you begin."

Before you begin
List anything a reader will need to know before they begin executing the steps in the how-to. Include things such as:

• Specific product, version, technology or operating system the how-to pertains to or requires (example: "These steps are for Windows 7 or Windows 10.")
  • Software, hardware or tools that may need to be installed or run (example: text editor, special cable, script, etc.)