Backing up or restoring a single space? Use the new CSV space export/import!

Hey everyone, my name is Steven and I’m a product manager on Confluence. We just released an update to exporting spaces intended for re-import into Confluence Cloud.

In space settings, you’ll now find an additional option to export your space to CSV. Going forward, this will be the preferred way for single space exports that you intend for re-import into Confluence Cloud as this format provides reliability, performance, and scale improvements over the existing XML space export format.

Screenshot 2023-04-28 at 1.05.22 PM.png

You’ll be able to import these CSV space exports into Confluence Cloud using the same import spaces UI in site administration.

If you are looking to backup an entire site, please continue to use site export - but we are planning on launching overhauls of backup/restore functionality as well as the ability to consolidate cloud sites more easily later this year!

If you have existing XML space exports that you took previously, you will still be able to import them into cloud using the same import spaces UI in site administration. We recommend though that you use the CSV format for future exports intended to be imported into cloud.

Please note, you will not be able to import CSV space exports into Confluence Server or Data Center, please continue to use the XML export format if you wish to do so.

12 comments

marc -Collabello--Phase Locked-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 5, 2023

Will the CSV export also handle content properties and macros?

Like Andy Gladstone likes this
Steven Bao
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 5, 2023
Like # people like this
Tomislav Tobijas
Rising Star
Rising Star