Announcing changes to Microsoft Word import in Confluence

Hello,

My name is Shalu Pandey and I’m a product manager for the Confluence Ecosystem team. I want to inform you that on January 7th, 2023 the old Microsoft Word import in Confluence will be deprecated in favor of a new experience.

Old Microsoft Word import

The old import can currently be found by going to a Confluence page and selecting :more: (More Actions) → Advanced details → Import Word Document (see screenshot below):

image-20221115-195220.png

New Microsoft Word import

The new import experience is currently available—you can access it when creating new Confluence pages. To use the new Word document import, first select Create to start a new Confluence page. From the Confluence page editor, navigate to the templates window on the right-hand side and select Import → Word document (see screenshot below):

image-20221115-224258.png

This change is part of our commitment to create the best import discoverability and usability experience in Confluence. Let us know if you have any questions or feedback regarding this feature in the comments below.

Check out the Confluence Cloud Support documentation on how to access the new Microsoft Word import. 

Thanks!

Shalu

35 comments

Dave Mathijs
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 30, 2022

Hi @Shalu Pandey Besides the UI change, are there any improvements on how the import is done and displayed on a page?

Like # people like this
Shalu Pandey
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 7, 2022

no other changes at the moment @Dave Mathijs 

Andy Gladstone
Community Leader
Community Leader